Friday, November 30, 2012

Sagicor UWI Champions League - Stallion Republic set to defeat two time champion Attica

Two time defending champion Attica and finalist Stallion Republic – both teams of Taylor Hall, will contest the final of the Sagicor/UWI Guild Champions League final on Friday, November 30, 2012 at 7 pm at the UWI (Mona) Bowl. In the semi-final match played last Sunday, Attica defeated Runci 2-nil (0) with goals from Oral Johnson in the 10th minute and Dennis ‘Blacks’ Nichols in the 35th, while Stallion Republic defeated Butchers 1-0 with Sean Francis scoring in the 25th minute.

On their way to the semi-finals, Attica defeated Titans 9-0 and Cluster Nine 3-1; while Stallion Republic defeated Aye and Siberia 1-0 in their games.

Dennis Nichols of Attica, who won last season’s Most Valuable Player and Leading Goal Scorer awards; presently leads the goal scoring table with 6 goals. “We are very focused and prepared for this final and we will not give away our title without a fight. I am also looking forward to repeat my achievements of winning the individual awards with the support of my team,” said Nichols.

Meanwhile, Dwayne Clarke, Captain/Coach of Stallion Republic is eager to have his team contest the title. “We have achieved our initial goal of reaching the finals, and being the underdog, we are under no pressure; but we will play to the final whistle for a victory.”
Victory for the defending champion will rest on the shoulders of Dennis Nicholson, Oral Johnson and Andre Stephens, while Dwayne Clarke, Ottis James and Adrian Allen should carry the fight for Stallion Republic.

Barrington Groves, Brand Manager of Sagicor Life Jamaica, title sponsors, said: “We are pleased with the competition on the field and team spirit off the field. Friday’s match is highly anticipated, who ever turns out to be the winner, we wish them all the best and we look forward to rewarding them for their efforts.”

The winning team will receive a cash prize of $100,000.00 and the winner’s trophy with the runner-up to receive $50,000.00 and a trophy also. The individual awards of Most Valuable Player and Leading goal scorer will each receive $5,000.00

The final game will be preceded by a 5 pm match between a Sagicor/UWI Guild All-Star team with Miguel ‘Gramma-Zone’ Reid - CEAC, Shawn Parkinson – Games Committee Chair, UWI Guild and Daniel Wilson – President versus a celebrity team featuring the likes of Laden, Romain Virgo, TOK and many more. Also to be present are Floyd Green, President of JLP’s Generation 2000 (G2K) and Dayton Campbell, PNP Member of Parliament for North West St. Ann.

No comments:

Post a Comment