Thursday, November 6, 2014

LASCO/MoE Teacher and Principal of the Year pass with flying colours

Anieta Bailey, a teacher at Marymount High School and Heather Murray, Principal of Hampton High School and have been selected top educators in the annual LASCO/Ministry of Education Teacher and Principal of the Year Awards 2014/2015. The educators were honoured for excellence in the teaching profession at the Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, November 4 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.

The Teacher and Principal of the Year each received a trophy and a cash award of $250,000 among other prizes and will be attending the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) Professional Development Conference in Houston Texas in 2015.

Murray succeeds outgoing LASCO/MoE Principal of the Year Norman Malcolm of Windward Road Primary, while Bailey will take over the reins from Janet Walters of John Rollins Success Primary.

Runners-up in the Teacher of the Year category Loaneen Palmer-Carroll of deCarteret College and Roxanne Blagrove of Holland High School, received high marks for innovation in using several teaching techniques to boost learning outcomes. Yvonne Ward-Hardie of Retrieve All-Age School and Lynton Weir of Old Harbour High School, runners-up in the Principal of the Year class, also had a brilliant report card, having demonstrated exceptional leadership. The second and third place winners received $150,000 and $100,000 respectively, trophies and other prizes.

No comments:

Post a Comment