Wednesday, March 9, 2016

LASCO TOP COP 2016-2017: The Final Twelve A Group of Outstanding Gentlemen

The LASCO/ Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) Police Officer of the Year 2016-2017 will be selected from a crop of fine gentlemen officers. The final twelve, whom were nominated by members of their community in January 2016, have met and, thus far, surpassed the minimum criteria at both the divisional and area level. They are: Sgt. Gladstsone Sealy from Area 1; Cons. Chadwin Headlam from Area 2; Cons. Shevaughn Andre Gossett Reid from Area 3; Sgt. Kidan McKoy from Area 4; Det/Cons. Dameian Haye from Area 5; Cpl. Selvin Joseph Smith from the National Police College of Jamaica; Sgt. Nickoyn Brown from Personnel; Cpl. Denton Daniel Gordon from Counter Terrorism and Organized Crime; Cons. Dameian Johnson from Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Agency;  Sgt. Lloyd Washington Jones from the Inspectorate of Constabulary;  Cons. Odaine Williams from Company 3; and Cpl. Kimaryo Pinnock from Motorized Patrol.

Officers and Mentors
The LASCO 2016-2017 Top Cop Finalists 
L-R (Back): Const. Odaine Williams, Cpl. Denton Gordon, Det. Constable Dameian Haye, Const. Dameian Johnson, Sgt. Kidan McKoy, Const. Shavaughn Reid and Cpl. Kimaryo Pinnock.
L-R (Front): Cpl. Selvin Smith, Const. Chadwin Headlam, Sgt. Gladstone Sealy, Sgt. Nickoyn Brown and Sgt. Lloyd Jones.

This year's LASCO Top Cop entrants have all complied with the new standards of filing statutory declaration and other obligations, as well as being compliant with the JCF; and have had an ongoing project prior to being nominated which must have been in existence for approximately three (3) months. In addition, nominees were required to have served the JCF for at least five (5) years and have a strong work ethic and communication skills. The participants were also considered based on professionalism, knowledge of, not only the policies and procedures governing the JCF, but local and international affairs; as well as involvement in initiatives at the community and national levels. Some relief in the process was given however, with the removal of the age limit.  

The evaluation continues with a Week of Activities scheduled from March 6-10. These five days will truly serve as a small taste of the work and role of a LASCO Top Cop. This Year's Finalists will participate in a Youth Project Day on Monday, March 7 with a Peace March and Football Competition. The march will start at the Kingston YMCA and end at the JCF Community Safety and Security Branch on Ruthven Road. On Tuesday, March 8, Police Commissioner, Dr. Karl Williams, will host cocktails at the Police Officers' Club; and on Wednesday, March 9, LASCO will host a luncheon at its headquarters in White Marl, Spanish Town. Last but not least, the week culminates on Friday, March 11th with a National Blood Drive spearheaded by the outgoing Police of the Year Det. Sgt. Ava Lindo at the Police Officers Club. The effort is a collaborative project with the LASCO/Nurses Association of Jamaica's Nurse of the Year and the LASCO/Ministry of Education's Principal of the Year.

The 2016-17 LASCO/JCF Police Officer of the Year will receive the coveted LASCO/JCF Champion Trophy along with a $250,000 cash prize. In addition, the first and second runner-ups will also receive a trophy and a $200,000 and $100,000 cash prize respectively.
Detective Sergeant Lindo will pass on the duties as LASCO/JCF Police Officer of the Year at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, March 30 at the Jamaica Pegasus.

No comments:

Post a Comment