Friday, August 5, 2016

LASCO, NAJ poised to celebrate 18th Nurse of the Year

One diligent and dedicated nursing professional is on her way to becoming the LASCO/Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ) Nurse of the Year 2016-2017. Six impressive finalists are excitedly awaiting the announcement of the winner at an awards ceremony set for Saturday, July 23 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.
The finalists are Antonette McLeod, Natalie Hylton, Lillian Eliane Coke, Laverna Campbell, Karen Wellington and Keisha Riley who will be by vying for the LASCO/NAJ Trophy and $200,000, plus other cash and prizes. The new awardee will be the 18th Nurse of the Year and will replace the outgoing title holder, Treveen Palmer-Miller.

These outstanding registered nurses are highly qualified, competent and experienced healthcare providers. More importantly, they have shown resilience in their areas of specialty and have become forces of change, making remarkable contributions to the health sector.
Aside from commendable educational and professional achievements, the frontrunners are actively involved in community service through outreach programmes, service clubs, interest groups, health fairs and mentorship initiatives.
From Left: LASCO NAJ Nursing Student of the Year 2015-2016, Kaysha Foote; NAJ President, Janet Coore Farr; LASCO Distributors Brand Manager, Renee Rose; LASCO NAJ Nursing Student of the Year 2016-2017 Finalist, Nadja Brown; and LASCO NAJ Nurse of the Year 2015-2016, Treveen Palmer-Miller at the Ecumenical Church Service held at Kencot Seventh Day Adventist Church on Saturday, July 16, to mark the beginning of National Nurses Week.

The Finalists
Antonette McLeod who serves as a high school nurse, even though she’s a registered Midwife is seen as a beacon of hope by her students as she often goes above the call of duty to counsel and motivate the youngsters, while Critical Care Nurse, Natalie Hylton regularly tutors Junior and Student Nurses at the hospital; both thoughtfully impacting the future of Jamaica.
Nurses Keisha Riley and Karen Wellington stand out from the crowd with their substantial achievements. Nurse Riley has held the award for Employee of the Year at the Spanish Town Hospital along with the Best All-round Awards in the Maternity Unit while Nurse Wellington has on more than one occasion acted as Regional Mental Health Officer in her supervisor’s absence at Black River Hospital and was also awarded the Nurse Practitioner of the Year and Most Outstanding Mental Health Nurse 2011-12 by the Black River Health Centre.
Another Nurse looking to outdo her colleagues is Operating Theatre Nurse Lillian Coke, a caring professional with strong leadership abilities, while Laverna Campbell’s dedicated service has earned her one of the top spots in the running for the title.
In addition to the six finalists, three Student Nurses have been shortlisted for the LASCO/NAJ Student Nurse of the Year award, plus $100,000. Nodly Manning of the University of the West Indies School of Nursing, Mona Campus; Nadja Brown of the University of the West Indies School of Nursing, Western Campus; and Sonya Robb of the Browns Town Community College School of Nursing are in line for the title.
LASCO has been a partner with the NAJ since 1999 in hosting the National Nurse of the Year Awards which celebrates the contributions of Nurses island-wide and highlights outstanding individuals in the profession. The awards banquet on Saturday, July 23 culminates National Nurses Week which began with a church service at the Kencot Seventh Day Adventist Church Saturday, July 16.

No comments:

Post a Comment