Tuesday, November 8, 2016

13 Finalists announced for LASCO MoEYI Principal and Teacher of the Year 2016-2017 Competition

(L-R) Hon. Lascelles Chin, Founder and Executive Chairman of LASCO Affiliated Companies awards Nickashie Hardware, the 2015-16 LASCO/ Ministry of Education, Teacher of the Year from York Castle High School, while Kandi-Lee Crooks-Smith, the 2015-16 LASCO/ Ministry of Education Principal of the Year from Allman Town Primary and Infant School, receives her trophy from then Minister of Education, Rev. The Hon. Ronald Thwaites.

LASCO and the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information (MoEYI), are proud to announce the top 13 educators who will vie for the coveted titles of Principal and Teacher of the Year 2016-2017. The finalists were selected from a shortlist of 28 teachers and 8 principals. This will be the second year in a row that a record number of nominations were received. There are seven finalists for Teacher of the Year due to the high levels of performance in classroom innovation, learning results and community involvement shown by the nominees.

 Another exciting aspect to note about this year’s cohort is that three finalists in both the Teacher and Principal categories hail from Region five of the Ministry of Education. Region five is the South-Central area which consists of schools in the parishes of Manchester and St. Elizabeth.

Representing educators with remarkable personal qualities as well as immense contributions to their field and community, the 2016 - 2017 Teacher of the Year finalists include:- Mrs. Judine Thomas-Shorter, Gaynstead High; Mr. Stevon Sheriffe, Santa Cruz Primary & Junior High; Mrs. Petrina Ledgister, Manchester High, Mrs. Joseth Kerr-Timoll, Holland High; Mrs. Pelechia Rodney-Vernon, John Rollins Success Primary; Miss. Kerene Nelson, St. Elizabeth Technical High; and Mrs. Maureen Rowe-Campbell, St. Hugh’s High.
Similarly, the six finalists for Principal of the Year 2015/16 are undoubtedly leaders by title but more importantly, beacons of change to those they inspire. They include: Miss. Keisha Hayle, Padmore Primary; Mrs. Prim Lewis, Aberdeen High; Mrs. Marcia Lewis-Brown, Frankfield Primary & Infant School; Mr. Keith Wellington, St. Elizabeth Technical High; Mrs. Andria Dehaney-Dinham, Maryland All Age School; and Mrs. Angella Campbell-Treasure.
This year, the awardees will receive a host of prizes and awards.  Teacher and Principal of the Year will each receive the champion trophy, $250,000 and an all-expense paid trip to the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) conference in Anaheim California. The first runners up will receive a trophy, $150,000 and accompany the winners to the ASCD conference in California, while the third place winners will walk away with a trophy and   $100,000. All finalists will take home plaques, LASCO Gift Baskets and gift certificates.
LASCO and MoEYI have been collaborating to salute educators since 1997 — recognizing them for outstanding performance and impact on education in Jamaica, as well as for displaying exceptional contributions to the school community. The 2016/17 Awards Ceremony is slated for Tuesday, November 29 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel with the keynote address to be given by Prime Minister of Jamaica, The Most Honourable Andrew Holness.

No comments:

Post a Comment